Promotion?

 

Hey guys,

Welcome back to the final update of the season. We go in to the last few games with a real chance of securing our play-off place or potentially winning the league. I think it has been a fairly successful season with Queens Park, I aimed for the play-offs and we are there. Could of had better luck in the cups but we will go again next season and hopefully go further than this season. But overall I am happy with the lads and the way we have played for the majority of the season.

 

Cove Rangers – Away – League – 8th V 4th

cove

We conceded early on in this game but replied straight from the kick off. We started this game off very slowly and looked pretty poor. They took the lead in the second half, we took a point after we scored from the penalty spot thanks to Mullen in the 67th minute. We just edged it in this game and i’m disappointed not to get the 3 points.

Youth Intake

This years youth intake didn’t offer any real decent players. Dobbie and McLaughlin were the best of a bad bunch. Our head of youth I believe raved about Dobbie as the best of this years intake. I do think McLaughlin will be in and around the first team next season if he is still here as defence is a position we looked fairly weak in and he is versatile by being able to play across the back. I would show you the list of youth candidates but when I click on ‘youth candidates’ it comes up with a blank screen. Not sure why that happens. Sorry about that. Hopefully it will be alright for the next youth intake. I can also tell you that at the end of the season we lost Dobbie to Motherwell.

 

Jamie Dobbie:

dobbie.png

Neale McLaughlin:

mclaughlin.png

 

Elgin City – Away – League – 1st V 4th

elgin.png

I wasn’t expecting to much from this game to be honest. Elgin dominated us in the first half and took the lead on the 10th minute. Donald got us back in to the game in the second half and we went on to win it after Woods got the winner in the 79th minute. I’m delighted with this result and pleased with the way we played despite the stats we played better in the second half and looked the better team.

Montrose – Home – League – 4th V 2nd

montrose.png

Montrose passed us off the pitch this game and they thoroughly deserved the win. We offered nothing in the first half and went in at half time without a shot on target (we was that bad!). The stats show it was a pretty even game but in reality it wasn’t it was one sided in Montrose’s favour.

Stirling – Home – League – 4th V 6th

stirling.png

In what turned out to be a goal fest Donald gave us an early lead in the 7th minute. It was an action packed game from start to finish. They scored in the 83rd minute to take the share of the points. I felt we deserved the 3 points but I will take a point.

Albion Rovers – Away – League – 8th V 4th

albion.png

A poor performance from us this game but we still managed to pick up the 3 points. We take the points in what was a tough game against Albion. McCluskey got the winner in the 86th minute. Nisbet got his first goal for us as well.

Arbroath – Away – League – 10th V 4th

arbroath

An embarrassing performance from us! We got smashed by bottom of the league. The first time I was probably proper raging this season! We looked awful all game. We went down to 10 men when McCluskey got injured in the second half after we had used all our subs and they seem to take advantage of that.

Annan – Home – League – 4th V 5th

annan.png

I was hoping we could return to winning ways after that abysmal performance against Arbroath and that is exactly what we did thanks to Donald and Woods. We took an early lead inside 5 minutes. A good performance from us all round, we looked comfortable on the ball.

Berwick – Away – League – 1st v 4th

berwick.png

Final game of the season sees us go up against the league leaders. We conceded early on in the game and that pretty much ended it for us. We didn’t look up for it at all and Berwick took advantage of that and tore us apart. Archibald got his first goal for us on the 57th minute. To only have 5 shots all game with 3 on target was disappointing.

So that’s the end of the season done and we secured a play-off place. Scottish play-offs are a bit different to say the least and we shall play East Fife from the league above. I believe they got promoted last season (could be wrong). When we got drawn against them I was fairly optimistic of getting a result against them.

East Fife – Home – Play-off Semi Final First Leg

east fife 1

Well……my hopes of getting promoted are well and truly dead after this result. They outplayed us from start to finish. This is the worse I have seen us play this season. Totally embarrassing. Surely it will be another season in this league as we can’t come back from this!?

East Fife – Away – Play-off Semi Final Second Leg

(5-0 agg)

east fife 2

In a fairly even game East Fife got the win again. It was a much closer game than the first leg. I am happy with the way we played this game as we seemed to take it to them more this game but overall I am slightly disappointed that we couldn’t progress further.

End of season

Final table:

final table

So the season has finished and we finish 4th and stay in this league after losing to East Fife. Berwick go up and Arbroath get relegated despite smashing us. Our form seemed to dip in the last few games which was sad to see. As I said at the beginning it has been a fairly successful league campaign. We was predicted to finish mid table while I aimed for us to get in the play-offs. I feel we lost a few games which we could of easily won on another day but that is football.

Awards/Stats

awards.png

The end of season awards see Donald get fan’s player of the season and player of the season, Jeffries getting goal of the season.and Norris getting young player of the season. I can kind of agree with Donald getting Signing of the season. He came in and played a bit part for the first half of the season, but in the second half of the season he came in to his own and played amazing. He chipped in with goals and assists to help us achieve the play-offs. Norris came in and played well and banged goals in but he dried up towards the end of the season.

stats.png

As you can see Donald also ended the season being our top goalscorer and highest average rating, Not bad for a left mid. I will be hoping to keep hold of him as I feel he is now an important player to this team. We only had one red card all season which as a nice bonus. Mampuya picked up the highest amount of yellows with 13 although it felt like he got booked every game it seemed that often, he is another player that has performed well.

Season Review

season review.png

As you can see our cup performances were nothing more than poor. I was hoping we could of done something in one cup but we didn’t perform well in any this season. We also used the most players but I am not sure if trialists are counted in to that as we did play some throughout the season. Our average attendance is at 1% due to us playing our games at Hampden Park!

Next Season

I am hoping that we can aim for the play-offs again next season and maybe a slight chance of having more of a fight for the top spot. If we can keep some of the players and bring in the right additions I feel we could do better than this season. This season we improved on last season and I hope we can keep on improving. The club only being an amateur level is a hindrance when it comes to keeping our players and the level of players that we can sign. As I have said before I will move on if the right move comes along. I have had interviews with other clubs in England but they never offer me the job as of yet. I will continue to build with this club and hopefully move up the leagues. I did think about leaving them at the end of this season but I felt one or two more seasons and we could get promoted. I will look to have faith in more of the youth/younger players in the squad and release the players that won’t get a chance instead of keeping them around as back up. I feel a small tight group works better than a big squad (obvious I know…) I am looking forward to next season and see if we can build on this season. Lets see what the future holds….

 

Thanks for reading and the support! Hopefully you are still enjoying it. If you feel I should leave Queen’s Park or if I can improve on my blog then feel free to tweet me!

Leave a Reply

