The Finale

 

Hey guys,

Welcome back to the final update for my FM16 journeyman save. We are at Crawley who are in the National League and we have 9 games to go and we sit top of the league with a strong chance of winning the league. We have done superbly this season and deserve to be where we are. Unless we don’t win any of our remaining games then the title is ours and I get my second title of my career and we get Crawley promoted to League 2. Can we keep our nerve? Lets find out…

 

 

Boreham Wood – Home – League 1st V 21st

boreham wood.png

An early goal from Walters put us on our way to 3 points against Boreham Wood despite them equalizing we went on to get a second goal from Brown and saw out the game. A solid performance from the boys.

Wrexham – Home – League – 1st V 7th

wrexham.png

Another solid performance against a strong Wrexham side saw us get the 3 points. We deserved the win and Wrexham only really threatened in the last 20 minutes. Clayton got his first goal for the club with Walters and Brown also getting on the score sheet.

Signings

Kyle Copp:

copp

We brought in Kyle on the loan deadline day as we had a couple of injures in the attacking midfielder position. He comes in to fill the gap and depending on his performance will be a first choice for the rest of the season.

Ollie Bassett:

bassett.png

Ollie is another play who comes in on the loan deadline day due to injuries in the team. He is a good player at this level and hopefully he can come in and do a job for the remainder of the season.

Newport County – Away – League 6th V 1st 

newport

A draw against Newport was a fair result as it was a fairly boring game with little action. Newport opened the scoring just before half time and we got the equalizer just before full time thanks to Olley.

Ebbsfleet – Away – League = 18th V 1st

ebbsfleet.png

A mad opening 6 minutes which seen 3 goals with 2 being scored by us. We got the opener in the 3rd minute but Ebbsfleet replied instantly and we regained the lead in the 6th minute. Centeno got his first goal for the club and we got our 3rd just after half time.

Lincoln – Home – League – 1st V 9th

lincoln.png

A disappointing game result and performance wise. We took the lead in the 4th minute thanks to Walters but we looked poor after and Lincoln took advantage and scored twice in the second half. We really should of got something from this game.

Harrogate – Home – League – 1st V 4th

harrogate.png

Another poor result and game we should of got something more from. Harrogate got a late equalizer with only their second shot on target when we should of already wrapped up the points.

Win the next game and we win the league…

Northampton – Away – League – 24th V 1st

northampton.png

A good performance from us against a struggling Northampton side. We went in at half time 2-0 up and looking good for the win. We got two more goals late which secured the points and the title!

We Have Done It!

champions

We have won the league with a couple of games to go! What an achievement.

Kidderminster – Home – League – 1st(c) V 3rd

kidderminster

A tight game from start to finish and we just edged it in the 57th minute when Walters got the winning goal despite us going down to 10 men when Bradley got sent off in the 19th minute. Kidderminster missed a penalty late on which could of got them a point but we held on.

Morecambe – Away – League – 17th V 1st(c)

morecambe

The final game of the season saw us finish with a defeat with Morecambe comfortably beating us 3-1. We got a goal back when they was 3-0 up but that was all we could do. A fairly even game with Morecambe deserving the win with a lacklustre performance from us.

Results

results

We win 5 of our last 9 which gave us the points we needed and the title we was chasing. As always we could of done better in some games but we done what we had to and we secured that title.

Final Standings

final standings.png

And the final table looks good with us sitting top of the pile and C next to our name! A long hard season against some big teams but we thoroughly deserved the title and that is exactly what we got. It has been a close league all season with many ups and downs for teams not many downs for us may I add!

Awards & Season Review

Awards:awards.png

I am surprised to see Brindley get fan’s player of the season by quite a margin with people like Brown and Walters banging goals in. Also Centeno being signing of the season is a strange one as he only played a handful of games and didn’t join on loan till late on in the season.

Season Review:

review.png

Goals:

goals.png

Walters and Brown with 47 goals between them is amazing. No one else got in to double figures which is slightly disappointing although we did have a number of players who contributed with goals.

My career

With this journeyman blog for FM16 finished now I thought I would add my career stats and history to see how I have done over the seasons I have been a manager. Personally I am satisfied with how I have done and with what I have achieved at the clubs I have been at. Queen’s Park was a good little club and one which was a challenge from the start as they are an amateur club with little to no budget every year meaning we had to rely on youth free signings and to get them promoted was a big achievement as we had prepared the club for a year or two previous of our title winning season. I felt that despite getting them promoted I wouldn’t be able to move in the direction I had wanted and felt a change of club would be needed and along came Crawley and we hit the ground running. We signed a load of players in the summer and I never thought we would be successful in our first season with them. I was having more of an eye on winning the league next season and building the team this season but they gelled quickly and performed amazingly and I can’t fault any of the boys.

Career Stats:career-stats

 

Job Historyjob history.png

 

Thoughts

We done it! We won the league! I am delighted to win the league at the first time of asking and if we had more time before FM17 then I would of liked to see where we could of gone in the future. I still can’t believe how quickly the boys gelled together as that has never happened to me it usually takes my signings a few months to settle in and start playing well. To have two players to score over 20 goals is quite impressive and for one to only join around half way through the season I believe is outstanding especially when they are still quite young. On to FM17 and I will most probably do another journeyman and see where we can go, if I start early enough this time then we will get through more seasons and hopefully achieve more! The boys have been amazing and I really can’t fault them this season (I’m probably repeating myself) To win against bigger clubs is amazing. Anyway that is me done now for my FM16 blog. Does ‘champions of Non league we know what we are’ work!? LOL  If no then.. Champione, Champione, ole ole ole !

 

 

Thanks for reading and I hope you have enjoyed my blogs and I will be back for more soon on FM17! Follow me on Twitter @The_FmGamer to find out when i’m doing the blog again and who/what kind of blog it will be!

Leave a Reply

